Why is Sleep eating so much battery? What about battery overheating? - Sleep as Android

Usually battery consumption issue or related issues causing phone over-heating during sleep tracking are not caused by the sleep tracking directly.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://docs.sleep.urbandroid.org//faqs/battery_overheat.html

Recently I have replaced my old Moto G5S Plus to a new Samsung A71. And I’m quite surprised by how my battery is drained during sleep. Check the graph in the image below:

We can see a consumption > 40% from midnight to 8am. Sleep as Android accounts for ~20%. And the other ~20% are a mystery. Probably some Samsung bloatware.

I’m a developer and I’m aware that the correct solution is not changing Sleep as Android but for Samsung to fix its software (or just stop messing with stock Android…). But by a practical perspective, Samsung doesn’t care and probably won’t fix. It is better for them that users buy their smart band instead…

If I hadn’t had an incredible experience with the app in the old phone I would just remove it and use some other sleep tracking solution (probably some smart band).

I have tried several workarounds each night:

• Uninstalling/disabling all possible Samsung apps that shipped with the phone
  • Stopping unnecessary services
  • Replacing Samsung built-in blue light filter by Twilight
  • Enabling airplane mode
  • Enabling Samsung battery saving mode (but excluding Sleep as Android from app to be put to sleep)

None of them worked and now I’m out of options. Given Samsung accounts for almost 40% of Android market, I hope there is something to be done as a workaround in the app side.