Garmin forerunner 235 and heart rate monitoring

Just got the Garmin forerunner 235, and had checked before hand that it can be used with sleep as android. Wearables list shows it tracks sleep and heart rate

The watch itself has a sleep tracking capability but since I’ve been using sleep as android for a while, I’d rather track my sleep and transfer to the app.

That being said, I installed all the right apps and add-ons both on my phone and the watch, and managed to get sleep tracked with the watch successfully.

However, despite the fact that the wearables list says heart rate can be tracked, and that I toggled the setting on in the sleep as android app, the heart rate is not being recorded at all

(Mind you it’s only been one night and I’m still learning about the watch and associated apps/add-ons, but wanted to try and iron this out early…)

Thanks in advance to whoever responds :wink:

I use my Forerunner 235 with sleep as android most nights. Like you I was hoping to get hrm data. It worked the first two nights (out of about 12 times used) but not since. Don’t know why & can not find any help on web.

Hey Icarus,

So last night I toggled the “heart rate tracking” option off and on again. On the toggle back on, I got a phone notification saying that “heart rate tracking, click here to turn off.” As this was just before I was heading to bed, this seemed like a good sign. It’s also the first time I saw this notification.

Upon seeing the sleep movement graph this morning, there is no heart rate info saved :confused:

It’s likely that I may have tweaked one too many settings on the watch (there are no sounds or vibrations active on it). And maybe this is affecting things. I’ll keep experimenting with this and report back here, since I’m technically supposed to be a beta tester :wink:

P.S. doesn’t help that the Garmin forums are down till later this week. Once those are back up I’ll check back there…

@Icarus got an update which you may be interested in.